new old me rings mail notes book design host

Milanos
10:21 PM - Monday, Nov. 03, 2003


I have always been a sucker for advertising. If the product will promise to take ten years off my age or ten inches off my hips, I have to have it. As time passes, I have realized that not all advertising is 100% true and factual. But today I stand here before you to shout "Yes! They are right about Pepperidge Farm Milano Cookies!!" Remember the commercial where the mom has to hide her own little bag of cookies? I always thought that was a bit of dramatic overkill. Whatever. Until I decided to buy my very first bag of Milano cookies yesterday. That little bag of cookies just called my name as I strolled up and down the aisles of the grocery store. Oh why not? Let's try these puppies out.

Back at home, I ate one little Milano. Then a second Milano. Oh my. Those ARE some kind of special little cookie!! I did not, however, resort to hiding the bag of cookies in the chandelier, as the mom on the ad did. I calmly closed up the bag and put it in the back of the bottom shelf. It's a good bet no one but me will find it in the back of the bottom shelf as eye level to the menfolk in this house is way on up there. Sometimes it does pay to be the smallest.

I was WRONG. I went in today to have my precious third little Milano--and the bag had been viciously ripped open and many, many little Milanos were missing. It was just horrible. The carnage! I have no idea how many Milanos were scarfed up by some scavenging always-hungry teenager. I just know we were down to the last layer of cookies. And I had had only TWO!!

Obviously, time for action. I found a tin that Christmas candy came in years ago that has been shoved in the back of the pantry since that tin was emptied. My precious little Milanos are now cozily tucked away in said tin, back in its long forgotten spot in the pantry. I think the Milanos are safe for now.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>