new old me rings mail notes book design host

Weekend Stuff
3:11 PM - Sunday, Nov. 02, 2003


A grey, muggy Sunday afternoon. Both of my boys are exhausted from a 14 hour day yesterday. Big marching band competition. The hub and I drove over to watch them perform at 4:15. The town where the competition was is about 40 mins drive from home. Anyway, the band was great and we watched a few more bands and stayed to hear which bands made the finals. Our band did. Hub and I left then, had dinner at Macaroni Grill, and came home for a bit. Then BACK across town for the finals competition. Once again, we thought our band was terrific. They placed third in the competition. For many years, our band has placed first in most everything. I think it is very hard for some of the parents of upperclassmen when the band doesn't place first. I think it's not such a bad thing to be in a position to work your way back up on occasion.

And now, for your reading pleasure, I will relate the dumbest thing I have done in many years. I fell out of bed. Yep. Rolled right off the edge of the bed in the middle of the night. This is not an ordinary bed. It is one of those big ole four poster beds that is waaaaaay up off the ground. And what does this huge bed rest upon? A very very hard wood floor. A floor that seemingly became much hard when I encountered it that night. I only woke up as I was crashing to the ground. I must have hit the night stand somehow, as I knocked off my book and glasses. But nothing else on the stand was moved! Very strange. I am still soooo sore. I have a lump on my head in the front, a lump on my head in the back. Bruises on my back and one arm, and one huge bruise running down the side of one leg. Not a pretty sight. Everyone is suggesting I get some of those railings to go down the side of the bed. Maybe that just isn't the bed for me anymore! I practically have to have a ladder to climb into it, as I am heightfully challenged. And I must say, as each year passes, that bed seems to get taller and taller. And now I need something to keep me in the bed?? Next I'll have the glass of water by the bed for my teeth. (ugh gag gag )

Son#2 has come down with something. He has had a sore throat and a bit of a cough since Thurs night. I did not take his temp--I knew we would end up arguing about whether or not he should stay home. He tends to tough things out and just go on, even against my better judgement when it comes to his health. I didn't want to get into it, so I just kept medicating him and sending him off. Today he slept in til 2 pm and does have a temp of 101. But marching competition is over and he can take time to get well.

Both my boys are always so sweet when they get sick. They thank me profusely for every little thing I do for them--even things like bringing them orange juice. . .little stuff. Of course, with two big, half grown boys, I am thrilled to be able to mother them again with no complaints.

I went to the high school last week to make calls for the attendance office. I made calls to parents of kids who were marked absent during first or second period, with no call in from a parent to notify the school. All the parents I talked to were very nice. I much preferred voice mail, though. Leave a quick message and move on. One poor mother answered the phone sounding like she was miserable. I gave my spiel about her daughter being absent. Yes, she said, our entire family is down with the flu. Horrors!! When you are all sick, who does the caring??

Flu is already hitting our area hard, supposedly early this year. I usually get a flu shot, but I may skip it this year.

Along the lines of caring, we have had a new couple move into our block. She is pregnant with twins and due in January. They just moved in a week or two ago and now she has been put to bed for the remainder of the pregnancy. Bless their hearts!! From what I understand, they moved in from out of town and know no one. Poor things. So we will get a list going of neighbors who can help by taking over dinner, doing errands, etc. I hope that helps them a little bit.

Time for afternoon football, so I must go.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>