new old me rings mail notes book design host

Trip Tracking
11:50 PM - Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003


Ok, here I am again, attempting to formulate another entry without my lazy keyboard positioning causing me to hit buttons I don't mean to hit that wipe out my entry.

Arrived home last night after 4 days on the road with the sis. We really had a great time. We hit every little town, every antique store, every gift shop, every restaurant and every bathroom in every little town in the Hill Country west of Austin. I had never traveled around that area. Truly amazing. We stayed at cool places (a log cabin one night, a B&B another night that was built in 1850something--and Sam Houston actually stayed there back in his day) We hiked up into Lost Maples canyon and took our shoes off and dangled our feet in the river running through it. We visited Twin Sisters Winery, did the tasting and bought bunches of the best.

And we laughed a lot and read a lot and slept a lot and ate a lot. It was a great getaway. Granted, every clerk or innkeeper we told we were Thelma and Louise and that we were WILD and CRAZY women on the loose gave us a look that said "Sure you are, ladies." We looked all over for a Brad Pitt to fit in with our wild ways. Saw one cute waiter outside smoking one night. We almost grabbed him up just to take a picture to back up our stories. But we hated to terrorize the poor boy.

Anyway--great trip. I'm ready (amost) to do it again!

As to what I came home to---

A relatively clean house (good). . . which became trashed the moment I hauled all my loot in the door (bad).

Two boys and a hub happy to see me (good). . . one boy (#1) sick with the flu (bad).

Dozens of messages left while I was gone (good). . .several left to tell me that a friend's husband died (bad). (I attended the funeral today. This was the man with Lou Gehrig's. He was only 55.)

Yes, son#1 has the flu and has been sick all week with a fever and headaches and body aches. Poor baby. Dads are great, yes they are. The hub did a great job of taking care of the boys. But moms rock, let's face it. On Tues night the hub made the sons go out to eat with him. He thought #1 would feel better by just "getting out of the house". WHAT??? All moms know taking a kid with fever out of the house is always a good thing. Duh.

Once I got home I changed sheets on the sick boy's bed, made him orange juice and dinner and pampered and petted him a bit. He's not 100% yet, but he is getting there.

Something is up with the hub but I can't put a finger on it. He seems "removed" again. Maybe I'm just feeling guilty for being away. . .although he acted like he thought it was a great idea for me to go and encouraged me to stay away even longer. Wait a minute--that may not be good either!! No, I think he is sincere and is trying to be supportive and working to make me happy. In the meantime, I don't think he is happy.

Oh! On Sunday, the sis and I went to a Psychic Fair in Austin. One of her good friends and fellow bloggers/journalers was doing astrological charts and readings there. LOOK HIM UP!! This guy is just too cool for words. His name is Kramer and you can check him out at www.astrofish.net. Go there NOW. He is so on target. And he is mighty cute too. Although I have read him for quite some time and emailed back and forth a bit, this was my first time to meet him face to face. One very very neat man. He'll be at JournalCon next weekend too. See? You should have signed up!

Speaking of JournalCon, weetabix says she is bring swag to JournalCon. I didn't know we were supposed to bring stuff!! On one hand, I am totally intimidated since I won't be bringing anything. This is all new to me, so I'll just play the part of the ingenue. On the other hand, I'm thinking WOW! I get STUFF! I love stuff. Free stuff.

I'm falling asleep at the keyboard. So night now.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>