new old me rings mail notes book design host

Dull and Boring
7:57 AM - Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003


I am sooooooooo boring. This week has been boring. Boring is not necessarily a bad thing. Beats trauma and drama. I just feel dull. So I will just whine for a while. Knowing that I truly have nothing to whine about.

I made a rug from some material I bought. A lovely, heavy upholstery type material. At the moment, though, it has become creased right where my feet normally land when I am at the computer. So I have to stretch the feet out or tuck them way under the chair, or even hold them up in the air because the wrinkle is irritating me. And I can't fix it without help--someone to lift furniture while I pull and straighten. I just never remember to ask for help when the menfolk are home. Dadgum wrinkle.

Son#1 is a sweetheart. . . and he is driving me crazy. He has no drive. I can't get him to join a club. He has no interest in becoming leadership in band. He is just totally content with life the way it is. Content is good. And he is a great kid. But he needs to branch out a bit, stretch a bit. He is a very smart boy. He is capable of more. I am struggling with sitting back and just watching or pushing him a bit. I am not one of those pushy "stage mom" kind of mothers. But I feel like he needs some pushing. Parenting. Remind me again why I signed up? (kidding!)

My sister is meeting us at our high school football game on Sat night. Then she'll come on up and spend the night with us. Yippee! Love her company. And we will find seats near the band at the game. That will be fun. At home games, our season tickets are miles away from the band. We hear more the echo than their actual playing. Getting season tickets upgraded has turned into an absolute zoo at the high school. This year people actually CAMPED OUT overnight to be first in line to get their seats upgraded. (You can only upgrade if you already own season tickets and if someone has turned in their season tickets and you ar there early to make a choice.)

Ohmigosh. I never did write about homecoming! How did that happen?? Son#2's garage band played at the "battle of the bands" type thing they had at the school after the game. However, they started it so early, that hardly anyone was out of the game and at the party by the time son's band played. (Freshmen get no breaks.) He was really frustrated Friday night about the whole thing. On Saturday, though, we went to watch the video of his band that the drummer's mom made. (I gave son#2 major grief because the drummer's parents were there as were the backup guitarist's parents!! And we were told no parents! Actually--one less thing to go to didn't bother me at all!!) You should have seen this video!! The band sang "Come Together"--son's own arrangement. On his guitar solo, the kid totally rocked! Not only was his guitar playing excellent, the kid went nuts! He bent over backwards, he came up on the toes of his shoes, he jumped, he twirled, he fell to his knees then jumped back up. . .all this while playing!! He said he doesn't remember any of it except being on his knees, then jumping back up. Guess he was definitely 'in the zone'. It was fun to watch.

Went out with the neighbor ladies last night. Great restaurant--quiet, excellent service, wonderful food. We had a great time together.

And that is all I can think of to drone on and on about at the moment.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>