new old me rings mail notes book design host

MY BIRTHDAY!
10:14 PM - Friday, Jul. 25, 2003


Na na na na na na

You say it's your birthday!

Na na na na na na

Happy Birthday to You!

(Love those Beatles)

Today is my birthday! Hooray for me! I have finally decided I am old enough to do what I want when I want without worrying what anyone else thinks. Hmmmm. Wonder how long this epiphany will last? I have died my normally dark brown hair a bright auburn and it's rather kicky. I bought (and wore) a rather slinky dress out to dinner tonight with friends. My eldest even whistled when I walked in the room! That is a nice feeling!

I have had a nice day, a nice week really. The hub's birthday was Wed. Last night my parents took us all out to eat to celebrate the bd's. AND they gave us a George Foreman grill-the big family size one! I have no idea if I will like it or not, but my mother and my sister absolutely love theirs, so I am excited to join the group. If nothing else, perhaps I can teach my boys to use it and they will forever cook dinner for me? hahahahhahahaha

We ate at Kobe Steaks tonight--one of those Japanese places where the chef cooks everything on the grill right in front of you. I can never get anyone to go there with me because A) it's a little kitchy and B) the wait is usually an hour or more. But I insisted tonight since it is MY BIRTHDAY. The food is just fabulous there and I loved every bite.

Not related to my birthday, but my parents still take the hometown newspaper from the town I grew up in. None of us live there anymore. This weeks paper had news of people I knew. The mother of my very favorite, most wonderful, most loved first love boyfriend from high school--"K"--his mother died a couple of weeks ago. I have not seen him since my freshman year of college but think of him often. You know how first loves are don't you? Anyway, I wrote him a note of sympathy today. His parents were always very kind to me during the two years we dated. I was really quite sad to hear she had died. K is the baby of TWELVE kids. . .he has nieces and nephews older than he. His mother was 90. His father is still alive.

Tomorrow--back to reality. My house is just trashed. I thought I would get it all cleaned up yesterday, but spent hours and hours working on my closet, cleaning and organizing it. Yes, it took that long, sadly. So maybe tomorrow I will get something else cleaned. Obviously, today I didn't have to clean a thing since it is MY BIRTHDAY.

My sons and I went to see Pirates of the Carribean today. Yes, Johnny Depp in eyeliner is a definite hottie. A very cute, entertaining, fun movie. Son #2 saw it the other night and couldn't wait to go again (and he isn't keen on most movies).

Well, I must go to bed. A shame really. Because if I go to bed, that ends MY BIRTHDAY!

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>