new old me rings mail notes book design host

Without Electricity!
9:26 PM - Tuesday, Jul. 22, 2003


I was afraid the Gods of Heat and Misery were after me again today. I did get the car back this morning and the AC is working perfectly. aaaaaahhhhhh

However. This afternoon I had just turned the house AC waaaaaayy down. I'm sorry about pollution, ozone, and energy costs and levels. But a peri-menopausal woman with outdoor temps over 100 for 5 straight days is totally allowed to turn the AC down to temps that require the rest of the family to wear sweaters. But back to my story. I had just turned down the temp when BOOM! I heard the transformer blow and suddenly we had no electricity. The whole neighborhood was without. The boys and I headed for the pool. That was a lifesaver, for sure. It was sweltering outside, but in the water, it was great. The electricity was out for over an hour. Just about the time my daydreams were taking shape with visions of being forced to go out to eat, it came back on. (sigh)

I was more concered with a couple of our neighbors being without elec. One family brought home their newborn son yesterday (this is son #3 but their first baby died days after his birth several years ago. It was so sad. Now they have a 2 yr old and a newborn and are so happy.) Another neighbor just had a hysterectomy and came home today. I know she didn't need to be in a hot house either.

I grilled hamburgers outside tonight. I pulled the grill way over away from our patio. I have a terra cotta pot shaped like a Dutch wooden shoe hanging on one wall of the covered patio area. A family of wrens is currently in residence there. I had watched the male build the nest, but wasn't aware the eggs had already hatched. I watched as the momma and the daddy raced back and forth, in and out, feeding the babies. The daddy sings beautifully---even with a mouthful of bugs! I pulled the grill way over so I would not asphyxiate (sp?) the little darlings!

Therapy today. I am (apparently) very protective of my mother. Interesting. I do know I have never considered my mother as a confidante. It is just interesting how all this therapy brings up a lot of things. Good things. I am learning a lot about myself and learning to be more important in my own life!

Another interesting note (I can't seem to come up with any other vocab words today than "interesting") My sister bought this amulet thingy to wear on a chain around my neck. It is supposed to maintain balance and many other things in my life. Yeah, sure. I wore it all day today and was up and feeling good. Took it off when I went swimming. After coming back in, I was getting really cranky and grouchy. Put the amulet back on and feel better now. Chance? Probably. But it's fun.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>