new old me rings mail notes book design host

Vacation Fun in Austin
8:55 PM - Monday, Jul. 21, 2003


We're back! And what a terrific, great time we had. We drove to Austin to my sister's house on Thurs night. We had planned to leave around 3 pm that aft. However, major crisis for the hub at work when I discovered his main phone line at work had been forwarded to his cell phone and the voice mail box was full! And he was right there in the office! Thankfully, I discovered it when I tried to call him and finally reached him on his second line. So he had to spend extra time putting out fires, etc. We ended up taking our time, going out for a nice dinner here in town, and hitting the road about 7 pm.

Friday we (hub, boys, me) spent the day at Schlitterbahn, this huge water park on a river in New Braunfels. It was a good day. It is tiring, though, to climb stairs equal to twice Mt. Everest, stand in line longer than makes sense, and ride a ride that is over in 30 seconds. How much sense does that make??

I also discovered that day that unless you are 17 or under, your chances of having a beautiful bod are about 2 in 100. Mercy! Isn't it a bit strange that thousands of strangers are willing to stand in line close to each other and walk all around a park in practically no clothing? It is all just OUT THERE for the world to see. I certainly lost all my self consciousness in no time. I also realized my family and I are probably the only remaining people in Texas without a tattoo.

(Side note, dang it. Just paused to run watch Sex and the City. The channel is not coming on. Bummer. Missed the show last night with the boys around---not a show for them, for sure. Oh well. This gives me more time to write here.)

Ok, so we had a lot of fun at the water park. Boys and I drove the hub to a tennis resort camp and dropped him off. He was like a kid, he was so excited. He is trying to get back into tennis again, but his skills have deteriorated. And this is a man who does not like to play unless he is winning! Honestly--he talks about quitting the league if he has a bad night because it is too humiliating. Anyway, enough of that. He was left in his nice little condo and we took off back to Austin.

I felt like I was totally living life on the wild side. When we left that morning, I never gave a thought to the fact that I would be driving on my own later that day. I didn't want to leave my purse locked up in the car all day--so I was driving back to Austin with no cell phone, no wallet, no money, no credit card, no driver's license. Woohoo. What a wild and crazy woman I am. Life on the edge.

We hung out with my sister and ended up going out to eat about 11 pm. I think the boys were shocked that we would actually go out at that hour to eat! That's fine. It won't be long til they realize people are actually out and about at all hours.

Saturday my bro in law chaperoned the boys and I around town. Ate great Mexican food and bought a huge stack of CDs at Waterloo--very cool music store. I seldom make it to buy CDs anymore, so I had lots of lost time to make up for. It was fun!

Met up with my sister, the DJ, at her remote. Fun to watch her at work. That night she, boys and I went to a really nice restaurant where her hub was playing in a band there. We sat outside and ate and listened and had a very pleasant evening. (I am only now realizing what a feast I must have made for the mosquitos. I am covered in bites. ugh)

Sunday, sis and I did some shopping and hanging out while the boys and my b-i-l hung out, ate out, etc. She and I picked up my hub from the tennis camp. He had had a blast and was worn to a nub (can you imagine that? Who would have thought playing tennis all day for three days in 100 degree heat would wear you out??) He was a happy camper (oops, no pun intended).

Sunday night my sister cooked all my sons' favorites. Chicken and dumplings. Yes, typically a cold weather comfort food. But the boys love how she makes it and she was quite happy to make them anything in the world. She also made fresh peach cobbler from peaches we bought at a roadside stand. To die for. And they gave us little gifties--the hub's birthday is the 23rd and mine is the 25th. I love presents!!

Today, the hub had an early appt in Austin. Afterwards we all went to see my sister's new station, office, etc. VERY nice.

Visit over. Boo! But we had a great time, as always. Last year at this time my sister was unemployed and barely scraping by. It is great to see her back in a job she loves, doing so well.

I drove halfway back home, then the hub drove while the boys and I all passed out. Too much partying this weekend! I even fell asleep on the couch this evening watching some inane sitcom.

The hub has arrived home (he had a class tonight) so I best go visit with him and point out the smoke alarm that must have a low battery as it is emitting a shriek every 4 mins (yes, I timed it.)

Night, now.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>