new old me rings mail notes book design host

Fancy Hair
10:36 PM - Thursday, Jun. 19, 2003


I got my fancy schmancy hair do today. Went to the Jose Eber salon. (gasps of awe from the crowd, please). I had only been there once before and it was the best color and cut I ever had. I think that was 6 years ago. I finally decided to head down there again today. I just needed that little boost to make me feel a bit prettier, a bit more stylish. So now I have the fabulous though subtle highlights on the perfectly tinted hair. The cut seems to be fabulous, too, but time will tell when I have to do it for myself. $300 later. . .has my life been drastically changed? 'Fraid not. But my boys and my hub did comment on how nice my hair looked, as did a friend I visited for a bit. I will take compliments any day, any time.

After catching a bit of an Oprah show earlier in the week, I don't feel so guilty about my credit card spending. On occasion, I'll go over $1000. Or we will. We both use the one card and have no other credit cards. The hub has a tremendous fear and hatred of debt. The only debts he feels are valid are those of the mortgage and the car payments--but pay off that car pronto!! This woman on Oprah recently "discovered" she had run up over $80K in credit card debt. How do you suddenly discover that??? I was floored--and I'm sure her husband was too. I haven't gone back to finish watching the show. I'm anxious to see if her husband survives the shock. After watching her, my paltry sum on credit is NOTHING. Guess I better get shopping!!

I desperately need new clothes. Really I do. You know you need new clothes when you wear the one outfit you feel kinda cute, kinda now in- - - and when you run into friends they say "That has always been my favorite outfit that you wear!" I know they mean it as a compliment, but methinks it's time to update the wardrobe.

I'm trying to convince the hub to go to Holland for a family reunion on July 20. We saw his mother's side of the family at a reunion in March over there. This will be his father's side and I think he would really enjoy it. I hope I can convince him to blow off the expense and just go. His dad is also in the hospital with heart problems (he has been there often) and I know it would be good for the hub and his dad to be together. My hub is the oldest of four children. He has two somewhat worthless brothers (very sweet, mind you, but worthless). They have their own apartments--that is a good thing. But my mother in law still cleans for them and does their laundry. These are 40+ year old men!! There is also a sister who is a doll and who is married to a wonderful man. They have two precious kiddos. It is good to know she is there with her level headed, responsible husband. The two of them can handle any crises with the parents since we cannot do anything from here. If it were left to the two brothers? I dare not think about it.

One of the brothers actually LOST my son in this huge flower arboretum over there. The Keukenhof? Pardon the spelling. Anyway, the brother was pushing my son around in a stroller and then we were to all meet up at the concession stand. After a bit, here is the brother. Where is my son????? Panic sets in and we all fan out. My son was about 5 yrs old. Fortunately, we found him in the orchid house. The brother had pushed the stroller up to the orchid house, left it and had gone on inside. For some reason, he thought we were all with him and would take care of my baby boy. After a while my son got bored and left the stroller and went in the orchid house on his own. It was quite frightening there for a while. I think I know now what the term justifiable homicide means. My brother in law is lucky we found my son!!

Once again, I have rambled on down that road of sighs and yawns. So I will fondly wish you a good night!

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>