new old me rings mail notes book design host

Teenagers and Tomatoes
11:22 PM - Friday, Jun. 06, 2003


Hurray! We survived the end of school, band debut, teenage pool party!! They really were a good bunch of kids. The boys are all so muscular and handsome. Amazing how much they have all changed over the past year. They are growing up fast and can't wait for high school next year. The girls are all precious. Very pretty little girls in a clean, innocent, well scrubbed way. And easy to talk to! I will definitely have it made when I have daughter in laws as I have no problem talking to the girls. We get along great. (I know, I know, they are probably being so polite to the old mom, but let me have my fantasy, please.)

The band played and the crowd roared. Well, the three moms that were here roared. The kids were a little more reticent in showing their true feelings. I did think the band did a good job. A couple of boys took it upon themselves to tell my #2son that his vocals weren't that good, blahblahblah. That brought him down a bit. I had to remind him that THEY didn't form a band, THEY haven't written any songs, THEY aren't performing and singing at all!! Must be one of those guy jealousy things.

We were blessed with sunshine today--yeah! It wasn't a hot day, but at least it wasn't raining. So the pool party was a success. And I intend to remind my #2son that he is indebted to me forever. haha

I must get up early tomorrow (gasp) to head for the new farmers market in our town. This is the first attempt to have a farmers market here and I really want it to be a success. So I want to go early and grab all the fresh produce I can.

When the boys were small, we went to the downtown farmer's market in Dallas at least once every other week. I froze a lot of vegetables and fruits and made jams and jellies. I was just a domestic wonder, let me tell you. I think my interest waned when somehow the power to the freezer went off and my entire summer's work of freezing was gone in no time. It was a couple of days, obviously, before I noticed there was no power to the freezer. It was just devastating to find the melted mess!! I cried for days. Maybe my interest will be revived with a local market. My biggest aim is for fresh garden tomatoes. There is NOTHING like garden tomatoes. NOTHING I tell you!! I refuse to buy regular store tomatoes. They have no flavor--why bother?? I do buy cherry tomatoes or occasionally roma tomatoes. But I live for summer tomatoes straight from the garden, no refrigeration, fully ripened on the vine. yumyumyum

Night, now.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>