new old me rings mail notes book design host

Season's First Swim
6:26 PM - Sunday, Jun. 01, 2003


I took the plunge today--my first time in the pool this year. The boys have been swimming on and off since April. Total idiots, in my opinion. The hub started going in some last month. But I am a fan of the perfect swim. Not too cold, not too warm. And today was the perfect swim. Especially after working in the yard and melting as much from the humidity as the sun. So in I went, clothes and all. Yep, just plunged right in and it felt gooooood.

Unlike the sun headache I have at the moment. It does NOT feel good but I can't find the Excedrin. I know that is what it takes to fix this type of headache. I have Tylenol, Motrin, Advil, pain killers, muscle relaxers, tranquilizers, antibiotics, antidepressants, antacids--anything you would want. Except Excedrin. Now why don't I just take something else? Because I am an idiot in my own sweet quirky way.

Yesterday was a revolving door kind of day. Someone was coming or going all day long--except for me. I am the doorman. Hello, this is Carlton, your doorman. (If you remember that, I know how old you are and you now know how old I am! ha) The kidnapping of son#2 by the senior trumpet players from the high school went off without a hitch. I was up at 3:15 to watch for them and point out #2's room. I think they finally arrived around 4:30, back home at 8:30.. . at which point #2 ran upstairs to grab his stuff and head for the middle school where his band was leaving for a day at a water park. At 7:15 the hub and friend/business assoc took off for the airport for Las Vegas. At 9:30 son #1 was supposed to be at a babysitting job. Knowing my son, I called over to the friend's house where he had spent the night. Sure enough, he was still sound asleep. But he made it in time. After a while he brought the boy he was watching over here so they could swim. (Hard and fast rule, no swimming while babysitting at other's houses. But I don't mind them coming here if I am available.) They never did swim. The little boy was too in awe of #1's computer games and setup so he was content to sit and play computer games. Easy babysitting in my mind!

I always hated babysitting. Loved the money, hated the kids. Not hated, just didn't like having to play with the little buggers. I felt it was my job to be there, watch out for them, keep them safe. Period. I did not like playing with the kids which probably did not make me a popular sitter for the kids. I remember one time I went to a family home with three kids. Their parents were still there and the little brats said "Will you play with us tonight? You never play with us!" I acted like 'silly kids! Of course I'll play with you, you little darlings!' but I don't think I did.

I have no idea where this entry was intended to go when I started. . . That seems to be a common occurrence on this diary.

If you read the comics, read today's For Better Or Worse. That is SO me with my son's garage band. They are currently upstairs in a room directly above me strumming away. They have written a new song that in their opinion seems to be particularly hilarious. Crazy boys.

Hopefully they will wrap it up soon as I am starving and I am taking the boys out to eat as soon as we are free. No cooking for this chick when the rooster is gone!

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>