new old me rings mail notes book design host

American Idol
7:07 PM - Wednesday, May. 21, 2003


I had no idea therapy could be so draining. I've had therapy before but not like this. Perhaps I haven't had such serious things to work out before.

This is the BIG NIGHT. American Idol final decision. I'm actually a bad fan. Last season our entire family watched the show start to finish, commercials included. This year NO ONE except me is interested in it. So I tivo it faithfully, skim through all the intros, the Ryan moments, the boring mumbo jumbo. I am in it for the music and that is it. Only today did I watch last night's final performances by Clay and Ruben. How can anyone decide? These two are super talented. I do believe no matter what, Ruben has it made. He will step right up and take Barry White's and Luther Vandross's spots (sad they are both so ill). Clay will make it on broadway if nothing else. He is a cutie in a weird way. Anyway, after weighing last night's performances, I have reached a decision. Envelope please. My choice for this season's American Idol. . .Clay Aiken. Bravo, Clay. You sang your little heart out last night. You bewitched me with those dazzling blue eyes. As for the real decision. . .I'll tivo tonight's show, zip through to the end and find out the winner. Such a fair weather fan.

Did I mention I bought tickets to a John Mayer/ Counting Crows concert for this July? I am so excited. I haven't told my sons yet. I think they will enjoy it. It is an outdoor concert venue, but I bought assigned seats up closer, not the lawn seats. This particular type outdoor concert used to be SOOOOOO fun in Dallas. It was held on some big corp's beautiful grounds. You could pack a huge picnic, wine, whatever. Take a blanket and spend the evening under the stars listening to great music. I had several dates there and it was always such fun. I was new to the whole "Dallas scene" and was totally a geek when it came to picnicking. My idea of a picnic was to fix tuna salad sandwiches, make some brownies, add potato chips and sour pickles, some cokes and go! (Actually, that sounds really good right now.) It was a bit intimidating to sit down by a couple on a date obviously. . .the fancy picnic basket, not the paper sack I carried (my poor dates! the envy they had to feel for the other guy!!) From out of the basket came the china, the silver, the crystal goblets, the champagne, the caviar, the fancy food. I am truly not kidding. And of course she would be dressed in perfect little khaki shorts with a pink polo shirt (yes, it was the hour of the preppie). I'd be in double knit. sigh I guess I must have done something right along the way because I do remember going to a concert with my darling hub when I was about 7 months pregnant and dancing my heart out to Kenny Loggins. What a babe. Kenny. Ok, my hub too. But really. . .definitely Kenny.

I think Andrew of diaryland has made a change just for the bitchy ADD side of me. I was merrily writing along last night when one of the banners caught my eye. I foolishly clicked on the banner, read the page, and returned to find my words GONE. The sad part is that this is not the first (nor second) time I have done that. You think I would learn. Nope. So Andrew, wherever you are, my easily distracted little mind thanks you for stopping the banners flashing at me while I write! I wrote him an email from the bitchy side. Well, I take it back. The banners are going again! I'm on to you, now, Andrew and I will NOT CLICK! (big grin)

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>