new old me rings mail notes book design host

Visiting the Parents
5:13 PM - Sunday, May. 04, 2003


I just took off on my own and visited my parents today. I didn't try to get my hub or my son to go with. And I think I enjoyed the visit all the much more, just the three of us. They were eating lunch when I walked in, so of course, I was fed too. Ah, the luxury of having someone else cook and make the ice tea.

We watched some of the Dallas/Portland game, the final of the 7 in their series. I just looked up on line and Dallas actually won!

My folks seem to be doing really well. Of course, they always perk up when any of us show up to visit. But they really do seem to be in good shape. Dad looks great--he has lost a lot of weight and is walking around quite well in the house without the use of a cane. Mom makes sure he uses the cane whenever he steps out the door.

I helped move some indoor plants to the outside (too heavy for them to move) and pruned back some small trees. That was great--I felt like I was actually doing something helpful for them

I also had to get another look at this new bedspread Mother bought for the guest room. She wants me to paint a watercolor to go on the wall above the bed. I wanted to check the colors--no worry really. This spread has red, yellow pink, white, green, dark green, spring green, light purple, dark purple--I just don't think I can go wrong with colors! I am anxious to get started.

Getting started is my hardest part. Once I begin any project, I just can't put it down.

My oldest son should be on his way home soon from his first high school band trip. I haven't heard from him in the four days he has been gone, so no news is hopefully good news. And I haven't worried about him either.

Son #2 and hub are out somewhere--no clue. So I'll take the time to chill quietly on my own!

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>