new old me rings mail notes book design host

Facials, Goals, and Indecision
11:29 PM - Sunday, Apr. 20, 2003


A really nice day. We barely made it to church on time at my parents' church. I set my alarm early--and cheerfully slept through it for another hour and a half. I might still be asleep if the hub hadn't come in and asked if I wanted to get up. At this point, it was only 45 mins til we had to be on the road. Of course, I decided it was all the hub's fault for not waking me up sooner!! I manage my life so much easier with displaced anger, doncha know.

We did make it on time. My mother just adores showing her family off. My sons, my sister and I. We were introduced to everyone with much hugging and handshaking and beaming smiles. They are all very sweet people.

Lunch at Mom's was great. Particularly since I really did very little to help get it on the table. I made a salad, cut up the strawberries and whipped the cream. My sister was doing a lot, my cousin some, my boys actually quite a lot too. Great meal, fun conversation.

Then I pulled out the MK magic bag and did "facials" and "makeovers" with my mom, sister and cousin. I certainly wasn't the professional, organized rep, but it was fun. And they all actually bought from me! I kept stressing this was for fun because I just can't force anyone into buying anything. I am such a bad sales rep. I didn't even charge sales tax. And I'll have to ship to my sister and I just blew that cost off. No matter. It was fun and they were nice to buy stuff. I still don't know if I can do this.

OK, are you ready for this? I am going to set some goals this week. Actually write out some goals, some postive affirmations, that kind of thing. The kind of thing like Jim Carrey--he wrote himself a million dollar check (some amount anyway) for acting and carried it in his wallet for years. Look at him now! And Maurice Cheeks. You basketball fans know who I'm talking about, don't you?? He is currently the head coach for the Portland Trailblazers. He used to play for the Philadelphia 76ers. Maurice is just the guy who sat behind me in biology class in college. No joke! I think he slept through most of the classes, but I guess he graduated! Anyway--he used to carry around a note that said something like "I am a professional NBA star". And he became one. So there must be something to this, right? I have a book that goes on and on about writing things down. In fact the name of the book is Write It Down, Make It Happen. (I would underline the title properly but I just don't know how. sigh) Story after story. So my main goal, I guess, is to figure out what I want to write down! Let's say I write down "I make $800 a week selling MK". Does that limit me? Should I have written $1000? $10,000??? My word, this poor woman has some serious issues with decision making. Shall we at least start by putting pen to paper??

I did finish a painting tonight. I am attempting to learn to paint on my own. Currently working with water colors. I like how it looks. I know that is supposed to be key. I am so consumed (sometimes yes, sometimes no, thank you meds!) with "what will others think??" that I often forget to just do what I enjoy for myself. So I'm working on that too. And I like this one--of a hibiscus. Bright colors. Mainly because I haven't figured out how to mix paints and tone down the colors yet! But I'm learning. Maybe I should write down "I sell my paintings for $1000 each". Do you think that's enough? Too much? Please advise.

Goodnight.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>