new old me rings mail notes book design host

Menfolk and Miseries
10:28 PM - Sunday, Apr. 13, 2003


I wrote the BEST entry the other day. . .hit the wrong button and lost it. I was so ticked off I haven't written again since.

But I'm back. . .and guess what? I'm ticked off about something else. Actually, I'm pretty much over it, but the menfolk in my house irritated me today. This is the time of year when the bluebonnets are just breathtaking. True Texans love it when the bluebonnets start blooming. When the boys were little we used to take them on long drives and find wonderful fields of flowers and take the boys photos. . .so sweet!

Well, today was an absolutely gorgeous spring day. I said "Hey! Let's go take a drive and look at the bluebonnets!!" They all looked at me as if I had suggested they dress in drag for work and school tomorrow. Horrified, absolutely horrified. I said fine, never mind, I'll be fine on my own.

I really was going to be fine. . .then I read an email from my sister about her gardening and I started missing her soooooooo much, wishing she were here to go look at flowers with me. I was trying to be cool, but the next thing I know, I am just sobbing. It is ridiculous that after almost 4 years of us living 4 hours apart I still miss her so much it physically hurts sometimes. This was one of those times. Of course, the more I tried not to think about it, the more I thought about it and the more I cried.

Unfortunately, my study is open to the rest of the house and my hub heard me. He was very sweet and offered to go on a long drive with me, but I had lost my energy for that. He left for a bit and came back and carted me off to see the movie Chicago. It was an excellent movie--very deserving of the Oscars it won. Anytime we go see a movie I particularly want to see and I know the hub doesn't, I am nervous throughout the film hoping he is enjoying himself and not bored silly. Today I almost fell into the same trap, but I decided to let that go. I lost myself in the movie and apparently he did too. He thought it was great! I still have all the music running through my head.

I am not a Catherine Zeta-Jones fan. but she was hot in this movie. And it is so great to see her gorgeous womanly, curvey figure look so glamorous next to the skinny twig Rene Zelwigger.

Good time at the movie. Picked up Son#2 and friend from the mall (which he obviously thought was much more important a destination that bluebonnets). Back home, we took both boys, bought some barbeque and went out for a picnic. I think this was the first my eldest son has seen sunlight in two days. He is a total computer nerd. It took him a while to warm up to being around family again, but he did come around. The weather was perfect. We did have fun being out together.

So the day was not lost. Earlier today when I was so miserable I felt like it was a curse being the only woman in the house. . . by the end of the day I can see I have three men that do take care of me and try to spoil me a bit in their own upside down ways!

By the way--stats say someone is actually reading my words every now and then. If you are reading, leave me a note or sign my guestbook. I'm always better with an audience.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>