new old me rings mail notes book design host

Brothers, Babysitting and BAAAD Weather
10:46 PM - Saturday, Apr. 05, 2003


What a night. We had planned to go out with 2 good friends, B and C. C forgot she had also asked 2 other friends, so all 6 of us went out. We went to a movie, then to a cool little wine bar C and I discovered a few weeks ago. We had a very nice time. . .except that a HUGE storm rolled in. When there is any bad weather about, I remain glued to the TV, flipping back and forth between the major stations, comparing radars, predictions, warnings. tonight, I was totally out of touch, which worries me. The storm begins with lightening shooting all across the sky above us. We were sitting outside for a while, but I was so paranoid and worried that I would be the first struck down by lightening that we finally moved insided. Then the rain and the wind. Then the HAIL. ENORMOUS hail--tons of hail. Pounding on the windows, pounding the leaves out of the trees.

I decided to call and check up on my sons. . . and I discovered Son#2 had left a msg--how did I miss his call?? He is babysitting two boys next door tonight and called to tell me the weather at home was very bad. VERY bad. I later discovered there were rotations (possible tornadoes) in the clouds over our town. I called him back and he was very calm and had things under control. He had made a place with pillows and blankets inside a pantry so he could take the boys there if a tornado did actually hit. (Oh, the thought of that literally makes me sick at my stomack). He said "They say we are under the gun here" I am totally freaking out and wanting to get home--but where we are is horrible weather too and does it makes sense to be driving in it?? I called home to talk to Son#1, home alone. He had been over to check on his brother and his charges when the weather was starting to look bad. I was so touched and so impressed with him. My boys are really just so amazing. He had also discovered an open window in younger brother's room, so he closed it and mopped up all the rain water that had poured in. amazing.

We finally made it home (through pounding hail and pouring rain and curb to curb water) When we arrived, there were still hail stones at least the size of golf balls melting in the grass. It must have been horrible. I am proud of my boys for being so calm and level headed. Of course, I am almost physically sick thinking of what COULD have happened. You know me--think of the worst.

So I will calm down and count my blessings as all is well and God is good.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>