new old me rings mail notes book design host

Rude people/Gay men I've dated
11:21 PM - Wednesday, Apr. 02, 2003


Rude people, people with lack of manners or couth or whatever you want to call it, make me nuts. Not that I would ever do anything in such a situation as I am a well-mannered lovely Southern bred lady. But I can still gripe about these people in my head--and in my journal.

Last night we attended my youngest son's band concert. I never notice details like this until it is too late. The performance begins and I realize the young boy in front of me is wearing a ball cap--indoors. That in itself is bad enough. But the cap is set back on his head so far that the bill is practically sticking straight up in the air. I can NOT see over him. And of course, he being a 12 yr old chubby prepubescent boy, could not sit still. I was constantly dodging back and forth, left and right, up and down, trying to see the band. THEN. We now know where poor manners start. The dad has his hand draped lazily across the kid's back. Ok, I'm ok with that. UNTIL he begins dragging his fingers back and forth and back and forth across this kid's back. Yes, it is an affectionate touch I am viewing. But come on people! Be still in public places! I think that's what made me the nuttiest, was that it was a constant movement that kept distracting me from the music--that and the bobbing and weaving I was doing to see around the kid.

Another time a couple was sitting in front of me at church. Now this couple was certainly old enough to know better. Both were probably in their 30s, not married. They were sitting close. . .fine. He had his arm around her. That's ok too. Until his hand keeps moving up and down her arm. Then his other hand is on her knee. Maybe I am being a little too nuts about this, but it was quite open demonstrative and distracting. . . IN CHURCH! I wanted to tap this guy and tell him to rent a room. Honestly. I don't think she was as thrilled with him as he was with her. She would move slightly away, and he would move closer. Been there. ugh

One of those "been there" moments. Dear sweet Jimmy took me to homecoming at my college. Now granted, I went with him purely to have a date. Jimmy was not an attractive guy. Thick glasses, long narrow strange face, and, bless his heart, a toupee. At 20. But Jimmy, again I will bless his heart, was madly in love with me. Unless I have blocked it all out, all went well until he took me home. We were in the living room of my trailer house (yes, I once was trailer trash). No matter where I sat, Jimmy would jump up and come sit by me. I would find a reason to get up and move to another chair, across the room (out the door??). Jimmy would be right there, saying "How's about a little kiss, baby?" He really truly said that. Poor Jimmy. He never did get his kiss. I heard later he "turned" gay. I seem to have had that effect on men. I know of at least 2, maybe 3 men I dated that were gay at the time or later "became" gay. My hormones were always raging so hot and heavy, I didn't care. If he knew how to make out, I was happy! And since I wasn't looking to go to bed with any of the guys I dated (yes, I'm one of those virginal types that waited til marriage), I never noticed that maybe they wouldn't have followed me into the bedroom anyway!

Rude people and gay men I've dated. Now how did that become a combo??

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>