new old me rings mail notes book design host

Bruised and Battered
10:07 PM - Sunday, Mar. 30, 2003


I am a broken bruised woman. No, I am not the victim of abuse. I am the victim of my own clumsiness. In my haste to enter a store yesterday and pull up my weird pants (every time I sit down in them, they slide down, but they don't slide back up when I stand!), my toe caught the edge of the sidewalk and down I went. The good news is that apparently no one saw this graceful display. At least no one came running to my aid. I said quite loudly, in case anyone WAS listening, "OW! That hurt!!" Then I jumped up as quickly and gracefully as this old bod can jump. I limped into the store, but all the joy of shopping was gone in that one stumble. I left.

That was yesterday. By last night my wrists were black and blue, bruised from taking the brunt of the fall. Today everything hurts from my neck to my shoulders to my arms to the tips of my fingers. ow ow owwwwww. Bless my heart. I really landed hard and today I am feeling it. I usually hurt most the 2nd or 3rd day after doing something like this--or something strenuous like heavy gardening, or aerobics. Since I haven't exercised in umpteen zillion years, I have pretty much forgotten what that feels like. But I do remember the two day waiting period for pain. Tomorrow may be worse.

The more I write about it, the sorrier I feel for myself. Poor baby.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>