new old me rings mail notes book design host

Girl's Night Out Blah (blah, blah, blah)
11:59 AM - Thursday, Jul. 31, 2003


Wow! My stats show I had 62 hits yesterday! Is that possible? Gosh, I've never felt so popular!!

Just had coffee with a friends at Starbucks and spent a couple of hours chatting. That was a pleasant start to the day.

My boys started to band camp this morning. Twice a day. Mornings 7:45-12:30. Evenings 6-8:30. ugh I am so glad it is not me marching in this heat. My eldest son is far from excited at the prospect himself. Son#2, however, is thrilled with all aspects of the band. That seems to be their attitude on lots of things--#1 is laid back, mellow. #2 much more passionate about everything.

Went to my monthly Pokeno group last night. This is the group of women I have played Pokeno with for 20 years. We don't play the game anymore, but we still give "prizes" for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place. . . if we didn't give prizes, none of us would show. ha I made an effort to go last night as it was at P's house and she has divorced in the past year or two, sold her house, and finally moved to a new house. It's fun to show off your new stuff, so I made the effort to go. It was especially an effort as it is about a 45 min drive from my house to hers. Anyway--as has been the case more frequently than not lately, there are two women in particular that just love to hear themselves talk. They talk about people none of us know. They talk about every detail of their days. Others may care, I don't. One woman in particular irritates me more than the other in that when I had my children and was a stay at home full time mom, she was a career woman who just could NOT identify with anything going on in my life and she made that quite clear. It was quite clear SAHMs were second class citizens to her. Well, surprise surprise. She got married at age 40 and immediately had two precious girls. So she is now the SAHM. And you would think she created the idea. Mercy, that woman can go on and on and on about her daughters. Most people like to throw in an anecdote about their kids. . . I know every single detail of her kids lives. Way TMI.

So I got brave last night. . .at 9:30 I made up an excuse and left. I was just bored to tears and thought why am I sitting here listening to her??

I know there are times I have been the center of attention in the group when something major has happened. That has been the case with all of us. And that's really the way it should be--pass the spotlight around. At least be sure everyone in attendance has a chance to tell SOMETHING going on in her life each month! Except for a couple of side conversations with those sitting close to me, I don't think I and probably 5 others there spoke at all last night. That's just not right.

So, it took a LOT of courage on my part to stand up and leave, but I was glad I did. Normally I would sit and be miserable the entire night.

I did, however, enjoy seeing P's house--she is one of these people with nonstop energy and has already faux finished 3/4 of the walls in the house, bought new light fixtures and installed them, bought all new bedding and curtains and installed them. Pictures on the walls, all the details done everywhere. And she has only been in the house a few months. I have been in this house 4 years and I haven't made that much progress!!

Besides her house, she fixed a fabulous dinner. Any night I don't have to cook is a good idea. so the night did have a few plusses!

Must pick up boys from band. Back out into the heat I go.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>