new old me rings mail notes book design host

4th of July Parade
10:43 AM - Friday, Jul. 04, 2003


Happy 4th of July! I have just come in totally sopping, dripping wet. And I didn't even walk the parade route. Our high school band boosters group had a float in the parade and walkers to walk the route passing out fliers asking for support for the band as we plan our trip to march in the St. Patrick's Day Parade in Dublin Ireland next year. Very cool, very exciting. The money is mind bogggling. But we'll take it a step at a time. Anyway, I arrived early and greeted everyone. I didn't have to do that, I just assigned myself that task, being first one there. I also brought face paint and painted shamrocks --quite well if I do say so myself -- on the walkers cheeks. We had four ladies dressed as leprechauns--hilarious, and thank you Lord I was not asked to be a leprechaun. They were great. I somehow managed to stay in the thick of things and had fun meeting people. I also managed to stay in the background so I didn't have to ride on the float or wake the parade route. After 2 hours in the sun, I had had more than enough. As I said, dripping wet. I came home, looked in the mirror. Oh my. Not a pretty sight at all.

I did stay and watch til all the parade had passed by. The high school band started the parade. Many, many floats and dignitaries. Even Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders! Oooh. Aaaah. An artillery unit on horseback with a wagon carrying a cannong came from a military base not too far away. Lots of local floats. Indian Princess, Exchange Club, Swim Club, landscapers, realtors. All followed by about 5 dozen or so horses from various riding groups in the area. Followed, of course, by their clean up crew. ugh.

I love a parade. I really do. And the older I get, the more sentimental I get. I love hearing the patriotic music and seeing little children wave the flag, all dressed up in red, white and blue. I love seeing the flag being carried by boy scouts. I love the fire trucks and police cars sounding their sirens. I love it all. I may not have wanted to be IN the parade, but I wouldn't have missed this for anything.

|| <

JournalCon 2003

/A>